Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
OK, don't believe the hype, this vehicle has really been a pain in the you know what. Pressure Test at local Cadillac Dealership revealed a blown head gasket. Estimated cost of repair $1500.00. Questions, would it be cheaper to purchase the tools nessesary to perform the job myself? It is known fact pressure test do not reveal crack heads or blocks so there is always the possibilty of the task envolving a little bit more than what was diagnoised at the dealership. I'm pulling my hair out! Yes I am a mechanic but I fix aircraft so I will not pretend to know anything about Northstar 4.6L V8 32V Engines. I have already gone as far as obtaining the GM Factory Manual for my vehicle. Should I continue the journey or beg some local mechanic for mercy on the bill? Feedback!!!!!!!

·
Registered
2010 Black Cherry CTS AWD
263 Posts
$1500!!!! :eek: You're lucky, my head gasket blew and I had to have it redone by the dealership. I had them do a whole ton of extra stuff to it since they had the engine open and mine cost $8,000! :crying2: I was able to get Cadillac to pay $7,500 of it sine the car just left the warranty timing, it happened just at 50K miles. I think they may be stringing you along if that's all that they said. They have to take that engine out to do this stuff. For some reason, $1,500 doesn't sound that right to me. Hey, if it is, I'd go with it, I don't think it would be the headache to do it yourself. Good luck and let us know how it works out.

·
Registered
79 Posts