Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Super Moderator
'05 CTS-V
8,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Following in the footsteps of Rob with his thread showing the GM Accessory wheels on his Thunder Grey car, here are a few pics of my new wheels on my Stealth Grey car.

The tires are 245/45-18 Falken FK452s, which I've never tried before, but generally they get very positive reviews and the price is pretty damn good. The wheels, center caps, and TPMS sensors all came from Luke @ Lindsay Cadillac, while the tires were sourced from Discount Tire Direct. (I'm normally a Tire Rack kinda guy, but they don't carry Falken stuff, soooo....)

My initial impression was that the wheel/tire combo didn't look as aggressive as the Mille Miglias and Dunlop Wintersports that came off the car. (Yes, I bought the car used with winter tires on it in August.) It's somewhat of an optical illusion. I measured both sets of tires mounted on the wheels and the 245 FK452s came in at 10", while the Dunlop 245s were 9-3/4". The fact that the snow tires are mounted on 1/2" narrower wheels makes them look like they're wider than the FK452s since they've got a little more bulge to the sidewalls. Add to that the fact that the MM wheels have a +35mm offset (vice the OEM +42mm) and the combination just looks a bit more beefy in the wheels wells.

Using my trusty bathroom scale (and the "(me + object) - (me alone) = weight of object" technique to weigh things), the GM Accessory wheels weigh in at ~23# each. The GM wheel + FK452 combo was 5-6# lighter than the MM + run-flat winter tire combo.