Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 2002 DTS. The vehicle only had 3900 miles and had been sitting for a while. Before selling the owner serviced the car. I am happy with everything except the fuel mileage. To say the least it is terrible. No where close to what was posted that this car should get. I feel I am a conservative driver and have never had trouble with any previous vehicle not getting what the manufacturer posted. I had the car serviced and was told all looked fine and there was nothing that could be done. Is this normal? I do good, pampering the vehicle all I can, to get around 10 MPG locally and maybe 15 to 16 on a longer trip. Any suggestions? I am about to the point of selling the vehicle. I might as well keep driving my large SUV. Actually I get just as good gas mileage, if not better.

·
Super Moderator
White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
86,242 Posts
That milage is not normal unless you are doing city driving with a lot of jackrabbit starts. Check for a leaky FPR first. Look in the Tech Tips section for how to do it. It's very easy and is a common cause for bad fuel milage.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the input. I'll have that checked out. If that is not my problem do you have any other suggestions?

·
Registered
2,721 Posts
That mileage is very low, there's probably something that can be fixed and you'll be back up a few more miles. I don't see anything better than 16 MPG (combined city/highway) everyday.....which is probably "normal". Cost-wise, I feel like I'm driving a truck......

·
Super Moderator
86,242 Posts
Challenge said:
Thanks for the input. I'll have that checked out. If that is not my problem do you have any other suggestions?
You are obviosly burning unregulated fuel. If it's not the FPR then I would look for a stuck open injector(s) but the FPR is more likely.

·
Registered
1 Posts