Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody!

It's now becoming time of when I need to choose myself my first car. I have been doing research for a long time and I "fell in love" with american cars. Now after researching what model and make I ended up with Cadillac.

I have found a nice looking only drove by summertime Cadillac Brougham 1987 with 5.0L engine. If I will go take it to testdrive and inspect it myself, what I should look for in this model? Should I check those OBD codes?

I'm new to this so if anybody can help me out it would be nice! :cool2:

·
Registered
87 Brougham, 1969 Calais, 95 FWB, 07 SRX, 07 ESV
4,246 Posts
Hey, great choice on cars! my 1987 Brougham D'Eligance was actually my 2nd car, but my first Cadillac. One thing that took me some time to get used to (coming form an old 86 Crown Vic) was that the 5.0L engine in the Brougham (Olds 307) is very sluggish compared to the crown vic. It moves the car around nicely but you will not be doing donuts or burn outs with it.

It's fairly decent on gas and very dependable. Parts are very cheap here in the US...I dunno where you live but I've heard some places overseas can get pricey for American parts.

Check for rust, typically anywhere the chrome trim is (like around the wheels, etc...) door bottoms as usual...

If the car runs good, you're in good shape. If the car runs rough it's usually an easy fix! a good tune up should fix most problems if the car's been sitting a while. Other common causes for rough running on these cars: Vacuum leaks...the car has miles of vacuum lines (not literally...but it has a lot!), Carb trouble...carb rebuilt would probably help tremendously, EGR valve, TPS, all seem to be common problems with these cars. All pretty easy and cheap to fix.