Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to cars in general and was having trouble starting my 88 deville, it wont turn over im thinking it might be the sparkplugs any other ideas? if it is the sparkplugs where are they located. thanks in advance.

·
Registered
01 frontier , 89 Shelby CSX vnt
14,607 Posts
88lac said:
im new to cars in general and was having trouble starting my 88 deville, it wont turn over im thinking it might be the sparkplugs any other ideas? if it is the sparkplugs where are they located. thanks in advance.

hehe , i like this dude

dude the front set are pretty easy to find , but them god damn rears you will need a doctorate in gyenocology to find them , a speculum would be helpful too

when you go to start on the key does the engine even turn ? if it doesnt id look into a battery chargeing first , if it runs after a battery chargeing or jump then id see why the battery was dead

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i charged the battery and now it wants to turn over but right now its just doin the reeeeeerrrrr rrrrrrrreeeeeeeeerrrrrr reeeeer thing, i can tell it wants to turn over what else should i look into? btw it started about three weeks ago.

·
Registered
14,607 Posts
not sure where to go from there without seeing it , id start cheap and replace the fuel filter after its set for about a day without the key being moved or touched , maybe before that go thru and check all the fuses might just be a old fuel pump fuse that blew out

might have someone spray some cold start starting fluid in the airbox while you try to start it , if it tries to run then it might be worth looking into the fuel system , if it doesnt chage anything id venture towards the spark side of things

some of the trucks i used to work on had a weak starter which didnt turn the engine over fast enough for it to fire off , but these were diesls