Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
NONE
3,844 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have noticed that lately my exhaust sounds raspier on decel then it used to, especially RIGHT after I push in the clutch. Here are a few videos to show you what I'm talking about. The first one is from about a year ago (skip to 30 seconds in) and the second one is from today:

Is it all in my head or is something going on with the car?

·
Premium Member
2005 CTS-V
8,363 Posts
It sounds different to me, but I do not know what it could be other than gradual deteriotation of the cats/resonator/mufflers.

·
Registered
2007 Escalade, 2005 CTS-V
24 Posts
Had the same on my M5 granted different cars, but it was the CAT deteriorating, don't know as much considering I'm a newbie but, it may also be baffles in your mufflers going.

·
Registered
2005 CTS-V, Black
2,165 Posts
Also agree on the cats. After I got my cats replaced with high flow ones on my GT, they got considerably louder as time passed. I wouldn't worry about it though, the car sounds good :thumbsup:

·
Registered
2012 CTS-V Sedan, 2011 CTS Coupe, 2010 Ford Raptor
3,547 Posts
Wow...almost the same set up and our cars sound WAY different!

I too have more popping as time goes on.

·
Registered
Raven Black 2004 CTS-V. Broken Diff!
342 Posts
sounds fantastic to me ;)

·
Registered
'05 CTS-V, '00 SLS, 98 SLS, 89 Eldo, '80 Eldo
4,001 Posts
You better get under there, and take a look. Sounds like one of those corsa losers swapped out your Magnaflow while you were hungover one night.
Just sayin.....

Hey, isn't the popping a condition of a lean mixture? And doesn't that kill your cats, if you have the rear O2s turned off?

·
Registered
NONE
3,844 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
You better get under there, and take a look. Sounds like one of those corsa losers swapped out your Magnaflow while you were hungover one night.
Just sayin.....