Cadillac Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Eldorado. Northstar "Y" code
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
In the market for a DTC reader to use on my 1998 Eldorado. Got an Innova 3150 from Amazon and then discovered the lack of USB connectivity. It came with a 9 pin serial plug. Software CD was already outdated and wouldn't even mount on Vista. Couldn't find any recent updates on Innova's site. No reply to an email inquiry. It will be on it's way back to the vendor soon.
Looking for a reasonably priced unit that's USB updatable, possibly with the ABS capability. I'm not a pro by any means, but like to have an idea of what's happening with the vehicle to see if I can handle it on my own or send out to fix. We also have a 2010 Ford FX4, a 2007 Mustang GT and a 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe in the house.
Anyone have good experiences with units priced $200 or lower? Thank you.
Update: The Amazon vendor (eToolDirect) was super to work with. I sent the Innova back today. They'll credit me, waive restocking fee and ship me another brand for the price difference. Going to try an Actron CP9580.

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
72,802 Posts
Your car already has a built-in DTC reader/scanner/memory, but there may be hoops to jump through to connect it to a laptop. The test port is hot at all times.

Study the sticky post at the top of this Seville/Eldorado Forums page - "How to pull codes". Practice, write them all down noting whether each is Current or History, then return to the sticky and open the URL with "obd2" in the address. That will take you to a Master Index of links to all P,B,C, and U codes.

·
Registered
99 STS, White Diamond
792 Posts
9-pin serial connection seems to be the most common for similar scanners. Serial-to-USB adapters are easy to find and not very expensive.