Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I tried to do a quick search on finding any DIY on Ignition coil replacements and/or spark plugs but Im not sure if its the same for 2008 Cad CTS AWD 3.6L w/ DI.

FACTS: Im out of warranty right now, with 88k miles, and Im a newbie. But would really want to try this on my own.

Infos i've gathered is that the OEM Ignition coil is AC Delco D501c. and Spark plugs would be AC Delco 41-990.

What I've read is that I would need the following to work with:

10MM wrench, a 10 MM socket with some extensions and a ratchet wrench, a 5/8 inch spark plug socket

*use dielectric grease to coat the inside of the coil spark plug boot

*lube the coil boot where they slip over the plug
-----

Questions: Do I need to replace the lower intake manifold?
Does anyone have any videos/recommendations/suggestions on how to properly change the ignition/sparks plugs and recommend anything else necessary to change while under the hood that is intertwined with the ignition?

Anyone help/tip would greatly be appreciated.

·
Registered
08 White Diamond CTS DI RWD FE2 all options
2,541 Posts
You are right on tools. You do not need to replace manifold or anything else. In that respect DI engine is great. It took me less than an hour to replace 6 spark plugs and coils. Oh, and I did use OEM's as served me well. God luck.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
My check engine light did come on. But I have yet to go get the codes read. I did buy OBD from amazon, and awaiting to read the code, but from my experience from the first time I had a misfires it was the ignition coil 2 and 5. Just figured Id change them all since Im doing it anyway. Thoughts?

·
Registered
'14 CTS-V LongRoof; '16 ATS-V Sedan,' 04 Trailblazer 4x4; '10 CTS LongRoof gone but never forgotten
14,173 Posts