Cadillac Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2011 DTS Base
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had been putting this off for a couple of months. The old pulley (pictured) still spun smoothly and there was no play in it at all. But once I opened it up you can see that there was hardly any grease under the seals. I added a pic of the seal so any sharp eyes out there could tell me if this was OEM or possibly replaced before I got the car. Regardless it's got a new one installed now and I feel a lot better.

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
74,071 Posts
Water pump drive belt tensioner pulley - there are two others on the serpentine belt drive.

Hard to say whether it's original or replaced a while ago. The pulleys (all of them) are sourced from several OEM contractors including Gates, DAYCO, Fafnir, SKF, New Departure, others. All branded "AC Delco". All made all over the world.

·
Super Moderator
2010 DTS
88,310 Posts
If that seal came off easily with no damage, you could have repacked it with grease, especially since it was smooth with no play.

·
Registered
2011 DTS Base
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If that seal came off easily with no damage, you could have repacked it with grease, especially since it was smooth with no play.
I was sort of thinking the same thing but since I already had a new one in hand and the cost was minimal... just go ahead and replace it. With all the horror stories you see about these going bad online I figured it was cheap insurance. I'm also carrying around a spare belt in case that ever lets go.

·
Registered
2008 DTS Platinum. gone: 04 Deville, 76 Eldo conv, 74 Fltwd
414 Posts
Thank goodness, suspenders fell out of style--long before Larry King retired.

·
Super Moderator
2010 DTS
88,310 Posts