Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2010 ESCALDE
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2010 esky awd with 6.2

Bought wife the fam wag and got the intune to just spice things up a bit when I drive it.

Problem I have and question I have is:
Had low voltage on batt when doing a tune and messed up the original back up file. And the guys at d-sport were doing great job trying to help me yesterday when all this happened but they closed for weekend.
We have a dinner engagement and I really didn't want to take kids seats etc etc out of the esky and into my car.

wondering if anyone here has any experience with the intune?

They sent me this msg

"Save the attached file to the intune drive and let the tool import it, then go to the truck and click tune vehicle/write vehicle and it will prompt you to load this update to set the pcm back to stock.

After that you can tune it, it may ask to do the same process for the TCM."

I just don't know how to import file into intune... Everything I try is wiping that file out before I can even take out to truck??

OR SUGGESTIONS!!! I am so open to them right now!! Or I am going to have wife all over me for messing up her truck all weekend!!!

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!
 

·
Registered
escalade
Joined
·
137 Posts
Did you try copy file and past file to intune F drive while tuer is plugged in to your computer? If done correctly tout intune will say writing file on screan.
 

·
Registered
2010 ESCALDE
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
all I have ability to do is open explore on the intune.

There I have USB or CD options to choose from.

When I choose the USB I can actually drop file into several folders as with the CD one I cannot as its memory is just enough for the D-sport files and that is it.

once I drag to the Explore USB section main screen the intune will reboot. Doesn't say loading or anything, not that I can remember at least. And When I look the file will no longer be where ever it is I loaded it.
If I dropped in the tune section its going to be gone by time it reboots.
 

·
Registered
2010 ESCALDE
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
the intune now is working, or not in the loop it was on. But isn't communicating with the truck itself. Ben told to take to dealer. Good news is dsport sent me labels to ship.
not sure if just easier to tow to dealer and have them flash truck...
 

·
Registered
2010 Premium w/ ALL options + 2004 Pontiac GTO LS6 "Beast"
Joined
·
1,196 Posts
This is another reason I don't like the handheld boxed tuners. HPTuners or EFILive could have flashed a stock tune file back no problem and got you back to a fresh starting point in under 20 minutes.
 

·
Registered
2010 ESCALDE
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have had to send my computer and intune over to florida to have them flash me back to stock and RMA the intune. Would be my luck that the airport in TN froze over and now I am probably going to be stuck without family truck for second
weekend !! Wont even begin to get into what my wife thinks of the intune....

Just don't see how they cannot flash back to stock with their unit... Anyhow... crossing fingers and hope to get it back by sat! I HOPE....
HPTuners or EFILive have the ability to do what else???
 

·
Registered
A red 2007 escalade base and a orange 2004 lamborghini galla
Joined
·
167 Posts
I hear you my gf always complains about stuff when I try mods on my esky lol but good luck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
HPTuners allows the user to adjust/change almost any parameter within the ECU, a very powerful software. However, it does not come with "pre-loaded" tunes, you make sthe changes, or use files from other tuners. Check out www.hptuners.com
 

·
Registered
2010 Premium w/ ALL options + 2004 Pontiac GTO LS6 "Beast"
Joined
·
1,196 Posts
Most people will share tunes for HP Tuners. I've offered.
I have a very stout 87 octane tune, and a 93 octane tune. I normally run the 87 tune for fuel savings and get zero knock count. I can beat my buddy's Denali off the line, and on the top end. What's not to love?
 

·
Registered
2010 ESCALDE
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
are there additional pieces one needs to buy or subscribe to with
HP or EFI ??

Which one to get???
Pros Cons?

Thank you...
 

·
Registered
2010 Premium w/ ALL options + 2004 Pontiac GTO LS6 "Beast"
Joined
·
1,196 Posts
A laptop.

MY answer to you is HPT. Only because I have tunes I can give you to get you started.
I have never used EFI but I have read just as much good about them as HPT. Coke or Pepsi - it's personal preference.

Standard or Pro? If you really want to get into tuning and learn up on it while making the best performance you can - get the Pro version AND a wideband o2 gauge. This is the best combination and the wideband will help prevent you from damaging your engine should you tune wrong. However if you just want to put a premade tune on, and let it ride, then the Standard version will do. (Pro offers inputs from a wideband, Standard does not).

If you have other GM vehicles the HPT will work with them also. One more plus over using something like a diablow tuner.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top