Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2001 eldorado,2008 DTS,2005 XLR, '96 eldo,'95 eldo,' 89 eldo,'78 eldo,'11CTS-V
1,716 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't find anything in the archives on the goodness or badness of this coolant, so why is this Dexcool getting such a bad rap?
Is there ANY real relationship between Dexcool and Northstar headgasket failures?

·
Registered
'12 White Diamond CTS-V Sedan, '10 Cyber Gray ZR1
265 Posts
I may have missed it, but what color is Dexcool and would it have been original factory fill in a '92 Deville? I'm a newbie, so bear with me! Just got the car last night.

If the water pump was replaced by the Caddy dealer within the past year, I would imagine they replaced the coolant, right? Also, what would happen if the coolant wasn't changed regularly? Would the engine just melt after the coolant and oil mixed?!?!? Would the engine have to overheat first before coolant entered the engine oil?

·
Registered
2001 eldorado,2008 DTS,2005 XLR, '96 eldo,'95 eldo,' 89 eldo,'78 eldo,'11CTS-V
1,716 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Dexcool is orange in color. '92 should have the green stuff.
Coolant mixing with the oil is usually due to a blown headgasket. The coolant gets into the oil, not the other way around. Milkshake looking liquid on the dipstick is the tip-off.

·
Registered
1992 Cadillac Sedan Deville
175 Posts
I had my 92 SDV's coolant changed at the Cadillac dealer, they flushed it twice and filled it with green coolant. They told me that they used a special coolant with the required sealent already in it. Hearing about all of this really freaks me out.:helpless:

·
Registered
265 Posts
I guess I'll find out soon enough what type of coolant is in my new (to me) '92Caddy. Though, since it's been flushed so recently by a Caddy dealer, I just figure ignorance is bliss and I'll just not worry about it besides checking the level to make sure it's topped off.

·
Super Moderator