Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Cadillac
1,031 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The stupid dealer scratched my paint. Real deep, right down to the metal. It's at their body shop being painted. After all is said & done, can I sue them for diminished value ? The paint won't be original any more, but it won't show on car-fax. The truck is a few years old, but was in 100% perfect condition.

·
Registered
2010 Cadillac Escalade
41 Posts
Did they pay for the damage? And how did they damage the paint?

I'm not a lawyer but I think if you called any lawyer and told them the situation they would laugh or advise you not to sue... it will probably cost you more in lawyer fees anyways.

·
Registered
2018 XT5 Platinum, 2014 S550
1,653 Posts
Ouch! That sucks! Accidents do happen... You should have / and or use your own body shop. I have seen dealers have a guy painting a bumper in the back parking lot. That's there body shop some times. I would request a written warrantee, and inspect the repair thoroughly. If you are not satisfied, take it to your own body shop. There is no law stating you have to have it done by them. If you go to sell the car, more than likely, it will be spotted. It is never as good as original.

·
Registered
'16 VSport (wife's), '10 Escalade, '97 & '02 SS Camaro's, '15 Silverado LTZ
1,131 Posts
Typically once you allow them to repair their damage, your are accepting the settelement and I doubt you would have any further recourse. Usually a small repair is spotted or called burned in. Larger areas the panel is painted and blended into the adjacent panels. If burnt in they usaully dont last as long and this type of repair is usually done by a roving touch up/detailer that makes his rounds to the other dealers in the area and makes small repairs for them. I would ask them to give me written guarantee that the finish on the repair will last as long as the original finish in that particular area.

·
Registered