Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys - I've had my new V for a week now with 3-4 days of it being in snow or sleet or otherwise lousy conditions. I've got the RS-As and I wanted to chip in on the winter driving discussion.

I can't speak for the V with F1s but the V with RS-As is a perfectly capable winter car. I've been driving for about 20 years in the north and the V is by far not the worst car I've had in the snow. I've had at least three (that I can think of) front wheel drive cars that were not nearly as capable.

My last car was an A-6 Quattro which of course was very good, before that, I had a 530i with all seasons and I would compare the V to it for winter drivability. The only major difference I've noticed is that the V will let you get further sidways than my BMW (or perhaps other cars) would. We love that on dry pavement, makes the nannying much less intrusive, but in snow, the Cadillac's computer let's the car go a little further. But, the Caddy would reel me back in before I got anywhere near trouble. I experimented for about an hour trying to get it to slide sideways, spin around, slide through a curve with the breaks locked and to no avail.

The V with the RS-As is not going to stay with a 4x4 car or truck but I would not hesitate to drive it in bad weather or have it as a year around car in a northern climate.

Could you go snows in the winter and F1s in the summer? Sure, and the performance would be better. But, in my view, the V with the RS-As has been quite impressive so far in decent and slippery conditons.

Brad

·
Premium Member
1975 Seville; 2004 CTS V; 2011 CTS V Coupe
806 Posts
The recent Road and Track magazine chose to run RS-As as the preferred performance tire on the CTS V. I had already ordered GS-D3s. Wish you had written this information last week. I guess I will be learning the capabilities of the D3 tires next week.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4