Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2008 DTS Lux III
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings;

I've got a slow leak that Firestone thinks is from the water pump. I hate going to the dealer unless I have no other choice and I can't replace it myself. Can most mechanics fix this? If it ends up at the dealer, what could I expect to pay for the gasket or whatever it takes to stop the leak, assuming it's coming from the water pump? I go through about a cup of 50/50 antifreeze every other week but never see any leaks on the ground so I'm pretty sure it's still a minor leak. The temp never runs too high, around 196 or 197 on the freeway - up to 222 in bumper to bumper traffic.

Thanks in advance,

Stu

·
Registered
'04 Base Deville, Light Platinum - blew HG & SOLD
164 Posts
Stu:
I'm not a mechanic, but water pumps are commonly replaced and most mechanics should be able to do this.
Depending on how old the water pump is, I would be tempted to replace the pump (and gasket).
Not certain on the cost of a water pump or gasket, but its not very high. The labor will be the big factor.

Anyway, I would get a second opinion on that leak before replacing the water pump and/or gasket.

-jasper

·
Registered
2008 DTS Lux III
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks-I'll talk with my regular mechanic. It's funny-he owns a gorgeous 03 DHS and runs a garage but doesn't work on Caddy's much.

·
Super Moderator
White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
86,998 Posts
The Northstar needs a special socket to remove the water pump. It is actually easier than most, though the dealer may tell you it is difficult to justify a high bill. Be sure it is the pump shaft seal that is leaking and not the $10 cover gasket.

·
Registered
2008 DTS Lux III
587 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Ranger. Would you take this issue to a private mechanic or would you have the dealer do it?

·
Registered
2000 Sedan Deville, 85 ElCamino
136 Posts