Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A week or so ago on the way home from vacation our AC suddenly started putting out hot air in my 2013 SRX Luxury AWD about halfway through our 3 hour drive.

Once we got home I took it my friends place to see if it just needed to be charged. The low pressure side completely pegged the meter (I hadn’t had it recharged since purchasing the vehicle in 2017 so it wasn’t overfilled.) Upon further evaluation the cooling fan by the radiator wasn’t kicking on so he hooked it up to the shop computer and ran some tests. He said it was an electrical problem that was above him and to take it to the dealer before the car overheated and more damage happened.

I have some electrical experience so I decided to work through it myself. The fan itself still operates when you supply power directly to it, the resistors are both working fine, and the fuses/relays have all be swapped out with new ones.

I was testing the electrical connector to the coolant temp sensor with the car on and it was getting voltage. When I plugged it back in the fan suddenly kicked on and inside the car I got a warning that AC had been shut off due to vehicle overheating and the temperature meter was pegged on cold. I had just turned the car on prior to testing the connector so there was no way it had overheated already. This hadn’t happened before either. I figured out that if you turned the car on, unplugged the sensor connector then reattached it the fan would turn on but the AC error would kick on.

I then replaced the coolant temp sensor, same problems but now the check engine light was on with codes P0118 and P0119 . Then I replaced the cooling temp sensor connector and clearer the codes. This stopped the “AC shutoff engine too hot” error, the codes didn’t come back up, and the temp meter inside started working properly. But the radiator fan still doesn’t kick on and still no cold air.