Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Me and my wife have been shopping for a newer used car for her. A close friend told me he knows someone about 2 blocks from me selling a 2010 srx. 2010 srx-4 premium 3.0 with 140k miles. Original owner with all records. Guy is completely meticulous about maintenance. Oil changes every 3000 miles when new, but changed to 5000 miles later. Never went off the oil life monitor. New headlight, sunroof leaks fixed by dealer, brand new power gate lift. New brakes. New tires.
He's someone I trust, and hasent had any other problems. I know the timing chain and wheel bearings can be a weak spot. I am a mechanic for a living, so those things don't scare me to fix if the need arises. Assuming I can fix pretty much anything myself, at $7000 is it worth considering, or run from it? Drives great with no bearing or rear diff noises.
Wife loves it. Has everything she wants. But it's at the upper end of our budget.
For comparison, our 2nd choice is going to be a 2004-2007 Volvo XC90 or xc70. Can get those in my price range with 100-120k miles. But They have their share of problems as well.

·
Registered
2011 SRX4 3.0 Engine
289 Posts
the history is worth everything :) if the exterior and interior in good shape i call that a win, i bought mine with no history but in great shape and I paid 10K out the door, its a roll of the dice of course but if the timing chain repair does not scare you then GO FOR IT !

·
Registered
2008 DTS Platinum. gone: 04 Deville, 76 Eldo conv, 74 Fltwd
226 Posts
As a general rule, I wouldn't buy the first year of a new model (particularly when buying new), but it sounds like this one has had its kinks worked out. OTOH, I'm old enough to remember when 140k miles meant the car was probably on its last legs, with the body, suspension, & seats about to go if the drivetrain wasn't.