Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Seville STS
Joined
·
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went in there today and asked what my options were for an aftermarket navigation. Then they said Anything, they showed me the bracket for the double din. I was happy then bummed, because I had a AVIC-F700BT last summer but the bracket wasn't available at the time and installation was going to be over $1000...I guess my question is. How long has the bracket been out?
 

·
Registered
2000 STS, W/Nav
Joined
·
562 Posts
I think just a couple of months cause i got mine last month and was out of stock everywhere except ebay so I had to pay alot for it
 

·
Registered
1969 Cadillac Deville, 1997 Cadillac Seville STS
Joined
·
64 Posts
I assume your old head unit is still in the trunk? Was it Bose or non bose?

Void4ever
 

·
Registered
2000 STS, W/Nav
Joined
·
562 Posts
Yeah I just had it put in the trunk and It was non bose And then to get my radio to stay on while the key is off i hooked the 12v switched up to the power antenna output of the radio in the trunk and now the RAP works Perfect
 

·
Registered
1997 Eldorado
Joined
·
637 Posts
Yeah I just had it put in the trunk and It was non bose And then to get my radio to stay on while the key is off i hooked the 12v switched up to the power antenna output of the radio in the trunk and now the RAP works Perfect
what radio in the trunk? i been trying to find out ho to keep mine on its been getting to me. can u take some pics ?
 

·
Registered
2000 STS, W/Nav
Joined
·
562 Posts
what radio in the trunk? i been trying to find out ho to keep mine on its been getting to me. can u take some pics ?
I had the factory radio installed in the trunk so it is still part of the computer system in the car just not in the front of the car and then the factory radio was still powered in the trunk. I am really busy this weekend but I will try and get some pictures up here soon.
 

·
Registered
1997 Eldorado
Joined
·
637 Posts
I had the factory radio installed in the trunk so it is still part of the computer system in the car just not in the front of the car and then the factory radio was still powered in the trunk. I am really busy this weekend but I will try and get some pictures up here soon.
how did u pull that off? like how did u connect it? also how do u keep it from moving
 

·
Registered
2000 STS, W/Nav
Joined
·
562 Posts
how did u pull that off? like how did u connect it? also how do u keep it from moving
Its actually quite simple there is a purple wire that runs into the back of the radio and back out of it so in the front where the radio used to be I just tied the two wires together and then in the trunk that same wire would have been part of onstar, but my car is not equipped with that so it was just laying back there so I hooked that up and then power and ground. Right on top of the wheel well there was a ton of space so i just put some heavy duty Velcro on the bottom of the factory radio and some on top of the wheel well and stuck it down and the trunk lid hinges don't interfere with it either does not move one bit so the radio isnt even showing in the trunk and so basically the radio turns on with the car just like it did in the front and so whenever the radio was on the antenna was up even if it was on CD so all I had to do is run a wire all the way from the power antenna wire on the back of the Factory radio to the 12v Turn on wire for the Aftermarket Radio and there whenever the factory radio is on the aftermarket radio is on. I hope that makes sense I will try and get some pictures If i get the chance.
-Daniel
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top