Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Cadillac
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I recently bought a 95 cadillac sts about a month ago.

I havent really driven it for long stints untill today. So today I drive it for about a hour and a half with a break to fill up on gas.I notice while im driving, the coolant temp goes up to 107 C which I believe is somewhere near 220 F. I checked the manual and it said the engine coolant is pretty much fine untill 126 C ( 250 F? ). So when im pulling into the parking lot of the place I work, my car shuts off. I cant accelerate or brake but the radio is working. Luckily I was going slow enough to realize that I could use the parking brake. I put it in park and start the car again. It starts fine but a notice came up saying service engine soon ( it went away with in seconds). So right now its in the parking lot and im at work, this happened at about 11 am. it is now 11:45.

Keep in mind im a poor college student who doesnt have alot of money. Right now im just worried that its something serious. I've read tons of stuff about head gaskets with these cars.

So is there any advice on what it might be? what I should do? I plan on taking it to a shop within a day or two, or should I bring it in asap?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
98 Deville, '15 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium, '12 Ford Escape
3,294 Posts
If it's randomly shutting off I would suspect a faulty CPS sensor Crank Position Sensor I think it is, was happening a lot on new caddys and also a lot on chryslers on another forum.

if that's all it is, it's a fairly cheap part (under $100).

I could be wrong so others will probably chime in with suggestions!

your other best bet, would be for you post any error codes the computer stored. There is a thread in the Tech Tips area showing you how to pull codes from your 95 Seville...those will be crucial to people helping you out here!

·
Registered
Cadillac
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3