Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mechanic recently replaced the Rotors and brake pads on my 2003 Cadillac CTS, they noticed they could not rotate the tires while the car was on the lift, afterwards they confirmed the brakes were locked, They bled the brakes,checked the lines (all ok) , checked the master cylinder all ok, disconnected EBCM still locked, removed the new rotors and brakes and put back the old rotors and pads and its now partially locked up, still not drive able, They flushed the entire system and still. The brake pistons push in just fine. This has been ongoing now for 1 week and they are dumbfounded. This shop has been in business for over 35 years and its a mystery, ANy feed back with ideas would be appreciated. Im not a mechanic but im pretty mechanically inclined and they've tried everything i could think of along with there own expertise input. Please HELP!

·
Registered
06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
9,785 Posts
How is this a mystery with a 35 year old shop?

If they wheels wouldn't turn very well, assuming before they started they noticed this. Then the caliper(s) are locked up and need to be replaced.

Also, are these the front brakes giving you the problems? If they are the rear, then check the parking brake to make sure they aren't locked up. But there again, if the parking brakes were locked up they wouldn't be able to remove the rotors. As the parking brakes are actually drum and shoes. And the normal brakes are the rotor and pads. For the rear, the "rotors" are actually both drum and brake built into one.

KOT

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
All the brakes are locked. Front and rear. Today they actually installed a new caliper and still locked even Went as far as replacing the hoses. They actually had the calipers with and without fluid and they still won't spin. They are dumbfounded along with everyone I've talked to about this. Thank very much for any help you give.

·