Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son, 18, is saving money from his job and wants to buy a late 80's / early 90's DeVille or Fleetwood for under $5K. He's partial to the RWD models but given we're in Michigan and he plans to use it as a daily driver, I think he should look at FWD models. What year / model would you recommend?

·
Registered
11,009 Posts
There are plenty...... for these years though, the Fleetwood was pretty much the same as the DeVille.... all were FWD.

I can recomend the '91-'93 DeVille, '93 (lime mine) was the last year for the Coupe DeVille. my '93 CDV is my first car. I did alot of reasearch on the engine and car, and everything came out very well..... these engines are very ncie, alot of power, very smooth, and with normal maintenance, can go well into 200k+ mile.

If interested in a RWD car, check out the '87-'98 Brougham, it is huge, full body-on-frame, and RWD, but came stock with the Olds 307, which means the car is slow, but a built 350 could be dropped in, and really make it a sleeper. The Olds 307 is not a bad engine though, and very reliable, and will never die. You can get a mint, realativly low millage '89 Brougham for about $2500

or find a '91-'92 Brougham with the 350...... then '93-'96 was the all new Fleetwood with the LT1, but they are going for more then $5k

to sum it up, I would say, look at a '87-'92 Brougham or a '91-'93 DeVille (I like the Coupes)

·
Registered
7,658 Posts
He could also look into an eldorado or seville..... also nice choices.....

·
Registered
7,237 Posts
Panther said:
then '93-'96 was the all new Fleetwood with the LT1, but they are going for more then $5k
If you seek the last Fleetwood, look for a '94-'96. Many people prefer the '95 with new mirrors and OBD1. Stay far away from the '93.

·
Registered
6,471 Posts