Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 DTS; I have been experiencing - what I refer to as a rough idle. Two visits to the Caddy dealer resulted in them doing a diagnostic check (telling me no codes) and a cleaned throttle housing.

I'm no mechanic (obviously) however, when I open the hood, I find the engine to be "shuddering", consistent with what I feel while in my car. I guess what I'm asking is, Could this be the result of a bad motor mount - thereby causing the engine to shake, reverberating throughout the car? If so, why didn't the dealer take notice?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
6,796 Posts
bobstoc said:
I have a 2000 DTS; I have been experiencing - what I refer to as a rough idle. Two visits to the Caddy dealer resulted in them doing a diagnostic check (telling me no codes) and a cleaned throttle housing.

I'm no mechanic (obviously) however, when I open the hood, I find the engine to be "shuddering", consistent with what I feel while in my car. I guess what I'm asking is, Could this be the result of a bad motor mount - thereby causing the engine to shake, reverberating throughout the car? If so, why didn't the dealer take notice?

Thanks in advance.
It's probably the way it's running that's making the engine shake.

·
Registered
7,651 Posts
Do they make a Helms manual for the current generation DeVilles?

If so, I'd recommend getting one, finding the idle adjustment screw, and cranking it up by maybe 50-100 rpms just to see if the vibration goes away. Then back it off until just before it starts again.

Then again, maybe the Caddy doesn't have a screw like that. I don't know, never cracked one open before.

·
Registered
135 Posts