Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1987 Brougham
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
Just got a 1987 Brougham a few months ago for a very specific purpose and am loving every minute of it. I needed a car in
NY and I have no garage (for now) so I have to park the car on the street. I needed a car that I would love and restore
(I used to be a mechanic) once I got a garage again but, for now, it had to be rough on the outside but strong on the
mechanicals and on the inside.

I found it! 1987 Brougham... one owner (old lady), 108,000 miles on the body, though a brand new Olds 350
(replacing the 307) was installed by the dealer 20,000 miles ago after a badly installed water pump cracked the block!

Driven those 20,000 miles in the last 10 years, the interior needed a cleaning but is generally perfect (back seat looks like
no one ever sat in it before, new headliner, all lights work etc.

Body is horrible. Needs paint bad, top is shot, all body fillers are cracked, rust hole in drivers door, weatherstrip is wearing away, antenna
mast broken. Back bumper rusted out. No rust on frame or underneath though. Still no one will mess with this!

Few problems I will fix now:
Antenna, bought a new unit from mastsrus after I kept striking out with junkyards. Need to install.

Radio station and time indicator not working (any tips)? Temp indicator works fine. Radio works fine (the 2
stations I get now haha).

R side mirror loose at body and behind glass. Saw some posts and will try to tighten.

Top has so many cracks, is this ok or should I get a new one to prevent rust?

Need one crest center wheel cap and hubcap removal tool.

Need right side bumper rubber (not guard, just the right front rubber strip)

Will tackle weather strips this summer.

Recline on drivers seat very finicky. Think I will try the electronic cleaning spray Ive seen on other posts.