Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1984 Fleetwood Brougham coupe
1,576 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
By the time winter is over I should have my Caddy on the road so I was wondering what type of alarm I should install. I been thinking something from Clifford would be good but I'm not up-to-date on the alarms nowadays. What do y'all recommend? The only options I want are window roll-up and door lock-unlock when I arm/dis-arm the alarm.

·
Registered
55 Posts
I have been installing alarms for 3 years and I have replaced more Clifford alarms than any other brand. Try DEI, they make some really good products, and I have yet to see one come back into my shop with problems.

·
Registered
85 Posts
semiauto said:
I have been installing alarms for 3 years and I have replaced more Clifford alarms than any other brand. Try DEI, they make some really good products, and I have yet to see one come back into my shop with problems.
DEI owns Clifford & I think Viper also.

S

·
0 Posts
i say get a Prestige. that's what i've got. it's got remote start too, and you can set a variety of options (if you get the right relay switches) such as window roll-up, garage door opener/closer, etc. it's the APS-996. get it. you won't be disappointed :)

·
Registered
29 Posts
STS_spinnin said:
DEI owns Clifford & I think Viper also.

You are correct.

As an aside, I have the new Viper Responder alarm (which is the exact same thing as the comparable Clifford), and I am very happy with the range of the remote. Plus, I get instant feedback as to whether my Escalade is armed, started, or in a trigger state.

I've had two Clifford alarms before, a Viper and a Crimestopper (LONG time ago). I had a minor issue with the Clifford...but nothing that would make me say stay away.

Good luck.

uh2

·
Registered
85 Posts
semiauto said:
The DEI brand alarms made by DEI are the upper line models though.