Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Advice about Bose and it’s replacement

I’m a true novice in auto audio. My knowledge is limited by likes and dislikes. So, I hope you all forgive me this post.

I have a 2001 Eldorado ETC with Bose radio. I don’t really like it. I think it sounds worse than in even my wife’s Toyota Solara. I went to my local Circuit City to see what they can offer. They promised me the world. However, after I asked if my OnStar will still work, the sales guy retreated and didn’t come back.

So here are a few questions.

1. Is the stock Boss system any good? According to this forum’s poll many would replace it. Is it worse replacing?
2. When comparing deferent head units, amps, and speakers, sales rep was using watts, amps, and range data. Where can I find this data for the stock Boss system?
3. All I need is GOOD quality sound of the radio and CD. I don’t need it to be too loud or have supper base. Any suggestions for replacement configuration?
4. Will my OnStar still work?
5. Can I still use Select and Volume of the steering wheel?
6. Any good current books, magazines, web sites to learn about auto audio?

If you think this discussion is not too interesting to others, send me a private message.

THANKS
:confused:

·
Registered
630 Posts
I would leave the Factory Bose in the dash and opt for a Speaker Upgrade > Be sure to upgrade with good high quality speakers with butyl rubber surrounds and poly cones and check the wire leads on the speaker to make sure they are NOT bare copper, if they are they are low quality speakers. I would also look for speakers with a vented motor structure that helps keep the voice coil cool and make sure the midrange and Tweeters all have Bass blockers on them. Your factory speakers are cheap low quality speakers so replacing them with the right ones will make a huge difference in your sound. For more help click on this link > http://www.carstereohelp.com

·