Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4,422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have an '03 CTS with DVD NAV(I added with help from this site), NON-BOSE, just added Infinity Components in the front and Coaxials in the back. The speakers sound great, but not clear enough or loud enough for my deafened ear. I want to add an amp, and have an Infinity 4 channel just waiting for me to have the time. I know I will need 2 Pac converters, but how and where do I install them? I have installed over 20 systems in various cars, so I have some knowledge, but havent looked at this car yet and due to the fact its my most expensive car, I dont want to break anything. Any help on the install of this amp would be greatly appreciated!!:thumbsup:

Thanks guys,

Mike

·
Registered
199 Posts
I just installed a sub and amp and didn't use any "Pac's". Did I do something wrong? Everything works, but could I have better sound if I used one?

·
Registered
4,422 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A Pac is a converter that takes the signal and makes a speaker wire connection, or high level input, and makes it a low lever or RCA type connection. This is for adding amps, but some amps have a High level input on them where you can splice off the existing speakers to get a signal and send it to the amp to power for subs. The PAC can be used for the subs too, but I need to use it to add my interior speakers. How did you hook it up? How does it sound? Usually, the low level inputs sound the best coming off the amp versus coming off the speakers where you can pick up intereference and road noise. Do you have good clean bass? Are you happy?

Mike

·
Registered
292 Posts
johnnybn said:
I just installed a sub and amp and didn't use any "Pac's". Did I do something wrong? Everything works, but could I have better sound if I used one?
What did you use for a remote turn-on lead?

·
Registered
2017 CTS-V
1,670 Posts