Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have cue in my ats, but do not have navigation or the weather like I seen in some of the cars at the auto show. Does anyone know if it's a simple upgrade that they would have to program into cue and/or how would I go about getting it. Any info would be appreciated.
 

·
Registered
18 Coupe, turbo, auto, dp,E 85,tune
Joined
·
825 Posts
I asked my dealer at delivery and the answer I got was no. Offered to pay the money and it just wasn't available.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,969 Posts
it can probably be done (just like anything is possible with enough resources)
but you'd spend more money (and a ton of time) blazing that trail
the alternative is to trade for one with CUE
you would lose money but not as much as trying to figure out how to add it to the car
plus, if you mod the car you're voiding the warranty

TL;DR - maybe, but if it was possible what would be the cost in time, money, and sanity? do you want to blaze that trail?
 

·
Super Moderator
2013 ATS Performance 2.0T M6, 2016 Mustang GT Performance Pack, M6
Joined
·
6,631 Posts
Like already posted, it would likely be very time consuming. And if your car is a Standard Collection its likely Cadillac engineered in roadblocks to make it even harder to make sure buyers pay for at least "Luxury" if they wanted Nav. And even if you did get it to work, it may be impossible to get map updates for it because I heard the maps are updated by the dealer; if true whatever they hook it up to to do that will likely check to see if the VIN came with Nav. Then there is the issue of intellectual property. You can own the hardware but it would be illegal in this day and age to use the maps because neither you or Cadillac would have paid to use them in your car.

It still sounds like an interesting project. I was involved with defeating Ford roadblocks to retrofit some options. We succeeded but spent a LOT of hours doing it.
 

·
Registered
18 Coupe, turbo, auto, dp,E 85,tune
Joined
·
825 Posts
Just use onstar Directions and Connections. You really don't need nav if you keep this service going.
 

·
Super Moderator
2013 ATS Performance 2.0T M6, 2016 Mustang GT Performance Pack, M6
Joined
·
6,631 Posts
Just use onstar Directions and Connections. You really don't need nav if you keep this service going.
For anyone who's used that: what happens if you have to or accidentally leave the route? I'm guessing you would have to ask for new directions. If you get off route and can circle back to the original route will it pick up from there automatically? Are the On-star directions asked of a human or a voice recognition system at the other end?
 

·
Registered
ATS 2.0T
Joined
·
108 Posts
I have been working very hard with no luck on adding Nav to a CUE that didnt come with it. The only thing that gives me any hope is that Cadillac said it will be an open market for adding apps to the system which makes me think maybe a google map add could be added.
 

·
Registered
94 Honda Accord / bye bye ATS LEMON
Joined
·
96 Posts
I used my onstar for directions this past Saturday for the first time, you do in fact speak with a live person and they confirm the address, i didn't even have to give the rep a city they already had it! When i went a different direction then what was displayed it adjusted the route. The vehicles do have GPS so it makes sense that navigation could be re-routed if you get off track or lost... IMO it wouldn't make sense to have to call OnStar back if you missed an exit or made a right instead of a left, or vise versa.
 

·
Super Moderator
2013 ATS Performance 2.0T M6, 2016 Mustang GT Performance Pack, M6
Joined
·
6,631 Posts
.....IMO it wouldn't make sense to have to call OnStar back if you missed an exit or made a right instead of a left, or vise versa.
Thanks a lot for describing your experience. Actually it could make perfect sense to have to get new directions. I've seen it described as turn-by-turn directions being downloaded to the car. If the directions are all downloaded up front, GPS or not, the car wouldn't know how to get back to the route once off it. But based on your experience, on-star must continue to monitor your location and recalculate when you go off route.

That's great. Especially if directions are included in the basic on-star service price once the free on-star expires.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,969 Posts
turn-by-turn just means that it just gives you the directions turn-by-turn
(it's not really downloading them to the car then going off that list)
it acts just like the regular nav would but only gives you the directions turn-by-turn
 

·
Registered
2017 Silver Coast Metalic Premium Luxury
Joined
·
212 Posts
Turn by turn works by first talking to Onstar advisor. They send the directions to your car which in my dads CTS, showed up in his DIC. We got off the route and the system asked me to pause the route or continue later. When we started moving again, the system recalculated and got us right back on track. And I believe you can ask to recalculate and any time.
 

·
Registered
18 Coupe, turbo, auto, dp,E 85,tune
Joined
·
825 Posts
Thanks for that reply. I never have used it before even though I had a free year in my last three GM cars. After the first year it loses this function unless you renew it.
 

·
Registered
ATS
Joined
·
62 Posts
You can also just download the onstar app to your phone(if you have a smart phone) and load the destination from there and send it to your car. Sometimes I personally just dont care to talk to anyone.
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Just for fun I started nav in my phone and set CUE input to bluetooth. Turn-by-turn instructions came over the car speakers. Unfortunately, I couldn’t play music at the same time. Bert
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
914 Posts
When plugged in, I was able to have music and turn by turn directions. Map display onscreen would be perfect.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
232 Posts
Bertha D Blues said:
Just for fun I started nav in my phone and set CUE input to bluetooth. Turn-by-turn instructions came over the car speakers. Unfortunately, I couldn’t play music at the same time. Bert
That is because you are using the normal maps from your phone using Bluetooth . Try the on star app it has it's own maps and you can upload a destination to your vehicle. Then you will be able to listen to any music source. You can actually flip between them all without being lock to Bluetooth.
 

·
Registered
2013 ATS 2.0T RWD, DP, Intake, HPT, CC
Joined
·
2,404 Posts
That is because you are using the normal maps from your phone using Bluetooth . Try the on star app it has it's own maps and you can upload a destination to your vehicle. Then you will be able to listen to any music source. You can actually flip between them all without being lock to Bluetooth.
OnStar and XM traffic are not free. I'd like to have Google Maps come through the display. In DC, Google traffic is much more detailed (i.e. main roads have traffic info) than XM, which only shows highways (or am I missing a setting).
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top