Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Cadillac Deville De' elegance
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.
I am new to the thread as I have bought my first cadillac here recently. I just did a motor swap on a 98 Cadillac Sedan Deville De'elegance. Let me tell you that was not soo much fun. However, it runs and it runs good. Now I have to work out all the little bugs in the car. Ok, so someone please help me. The radio in the car plays in the AM mode but not in the FM mode. It acts like it is finding the stations but no sound. I have another car with a good donor radio (the car that the motor came out of). Anyone know why mine is doing this and if not can someone please tell me what I need to do in order to just do a swap of the two factory radios????? Someone please help me I am dieing with no radio in the car......

·
Super Moderator
2010 DTS
87,547 Posts
If I am not mistaken, the radio is programmed to the VIN or something like that as a theft deterrent. I think you may need to see the dealer. See if others agree.

·
Registered
04 CTS 3.6 Black
29 Posts
radios wernt vin attached until later years. andthe theftlock will disable the radio completely. wouldnt let you do anything.

is the AM playing sound? or is silent as well?

·
Registered
04 Deville, 11 DTS Premium, 00 Deville (sold), 02 Deville (sold)
2,688 Posts
If you swap radios you will need the Theftlock code for the donor radio. If you don't know the code Google Theftlock or check ebay there are people that will sell you the code you need for under $5

If your radio is VIN based it requires reprogramming with the Tech2

·
Registered
1998 Cadillac Deville De' elegance
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5