Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
86,781 Posts
:welcome: I think I have seen the proceedure posted before. It is removed from the bottom and is a bit tight. Use the search feature and you should be able to find some info on it.

·
Registered
1993 STS, 1997 STS, 2002 SLS, 2007 CTS 3.6
378 Posts
I did it on my 93 STS, assuming they are still relativly the same, and yes, you need to pull it from the bottom it is tight but not impossible, I did not have to remove the radiator like I have seen some say you need to. Its not that bad of a job but it isnt the easiest either. I am not a mechanic by any means and did it solo, so you should be fine. Just make sure you but a NEW DELCO and not some autozone crap that you will have to replace every year or two. Now may be a good time for a new serp belt to since you got it off...

·
Registered
'72 Eldorado Convertible, '97 Eldorado ETC, '93 Fleetwood
1,024 Posts
i know that I'm replying to a ten year old thread, but I'm doing the same thing.

My '97 ETC already had squealing from the alternator or a pull when it got hit. The shop says the harness was severed and the alternator toasted.

I've picked up a '95 base eldorado as a donor car (it's a shame to scrap a car so pretty, but it's northstar is toasted). I've got someone who will do most of the work, but I'd like to get the alternator swapped before he gets back.

I guess it's time to find a shop manual. I've found a CD with Eldorado shop manuals for 1990-2002, https://www.ebay.com/itm/Cadillac-ELDORADO-1990-2002-Original-GM-SHOP-REPAIR-MANUAL-PLUS-Owners-Manuals-/173088322572
, which seems to have body manuals too (which I really need), but it will take weeks to get here if I order that one (or does anyone haver a better suggestion; I found that by google, while ebay's own search comes up with everything *but* the 90s eldorado).

I do prefer the pdf, as I can toss it on an old iPad.