Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'm going to be looking at a '91 Deville as a prospective purchase tomorrow. This is my first time with this generation Cadillac, and I was wondering if there's anything in particular I should look out for / pay attention to? It has 176K on it, claimed to have excellent body and interior. Asking price is $1000, seems like I can't go wrong for that. It has 4.9L V8.

I also already checked out an 89 Eldorado/ 4.5L. I am curious about the reliabilty/maintance comparison between those two engines. The Eldorado has 144K on it, and is in pretty good shape overall, other than a REALLY stiff gas pedal (odd thing to have). But it's $1,500, so a little more coin.

Just curious about your guys' opinions. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1991 Deville / 1989 BMW 635csi
896 Posts
You have nothing to worry about, the 4.1 4.5 and 4.9 are all same design engines. Be sure to read ALL of the stickers on the rad support under the hood and follow them. The Port Fuel Injection (PFI) engine requires premium fuel. Coolant MUST be changed every 2 years and coolant seal tabs MUST be used. If you purchase any of these cars, change coolant RIGHT AWAY!! Change oil a little earlier for the first couple months just to make sure its clean inside and enjoy. These cars are generally not terrible on fuel if maintained. If the 4.9 engine makes a knock, it is most likely the common harmless #1 main bearing thump, it is just annoying. In the summer, run Rotella 15W 40 oil to make thump go away, this oil is too thick for winter, so just use the reccomnded oil. If you want to make the thump go away completely, change all mains, i mean might as well if you are in there. Purchase which ever you like best, these cars are flawless and have lots of pep and go. You have nothing to worry about. Just don't beat it and it will go forever.