Cadillac Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have a chance get to buy a 2007 Escalade ext with 179k and seems to be in great condition for 8k. Is it worth? They replaced air bags on the back for coil over suspension, several other recent maintainer. Do you guys have any expensive issues around this mileage. Looking for feedback, thanks.

·
Registered
It's OK I'm a Limo driver
1,624 Posts
It's a hit or miss really. Lack of previous maintenance will drive up repair costs unless you are handy with wrenches.
If the body and paint are solid then it sounds like it might be worth it. Check the rear main for leaks.

·
Premium Member
2008 Escalade Sport, 2018 Escalade Luxury & 2018 Camry Hybrid XLE
2,675 Posts
My 2008 engine lasted to 193k and the transmission 160k. So I would find out if the transmission has been changed and what’s up with the engine. The price is good though. I would hook up a scanner and check to see when it was last reset.

·
Premium Member
2008 Escalade Sport, 2018 Escalade Luxury & 2018 Camry Hybrid XLE
2,675 Posts
If you’re in California I know of a place that will replace your engine for $5100 which includes headers, plugs, wires and will replace any harness that is broken. I also was given a 6 year unlimited mile warranty. They did an excellent job and I put 20k on it before selling my 2008. 2007-2009 are ones to get. I would love to see some pics of it.

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
The biggest expenses while using as a driver are clear coat on paint, chrome peeling on edges of OEM 22” rims causing constant leaks, issues inherent to the 07 trans if it’s not been replaced and gaskets. Specifically the labor costs to replace said gaskets.

Pan & rear main gaskets, brake backing plates to axle gaskets, 2 motor & trans mounts. The previous three mentioned also involve doing the 50 or 100k service on the trans, front & rear diff fluid while your in there because the labor is almost free.