Cadillac Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1989 Sedan Deville
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Cadillac ownership and bought an 89 Sedan Deville.
When I turn on the switch for the cruise control The small light comes on to the right of the switch. Then when I go to set the speed the "Engaged" Light comes on but when I take my foot off the gas, the car slows down. I have tried to use the accelerator switch on the steering column and get nothing. Any Ideas?

Problem 2

I have no heat whatsoever. The digital display works fine. I can set a temp, turn the fan on/off, turn on defrost and it blows cold air, even with temp set at 80 degrees.

When I first turn the key to the on position, I hear what sounds like a small electric motor running, then what sounds like a door with a spring closing , (with a thud noise).

Please help me, I have fallen in love with this car and would like to get it.

Here are some pics.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
2010 DTS
88,476 Posts
Cruise Control
Check the fuse. Look under the dash by the steering column. There should be 2 green plugs. Make sure they are connected together. Check the diaphragm under the hood and be sure it is connected to the throttle linkage.

Heat
I'd start by flushing the heater core.

·
Registered
85 Coupe Deville 4.1 V8 & 4.3 V6 Deisel & 1970 Eldorado
773 Posts
On the heat, You can go into the on board diagnostics. There you can compare the commanded blend door position and the actual blend door position. This confirms that the blend door servo has not failed. If this checks, Then check to make sure that the blend door actuator rod is indeed connected on both ends. (May need to remove the glove box to make seeing easier). If both of these check out, Then suspect a clogged heater core. Check the temp of the hoses and see if they are close to the same temp.