Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, im brand new to this whole "cadillac" experience, but i am in the navy and stationed in upstate new york and ive decided i want a coupe deville. i found a 1980 one for $1500 with 52k miles, and a 1978 one for $3500 with 92k miles. both are leather, the 80 on is like a nasty brownish yellow, and the 78 is a pimp black, and the 78 has one of those wheel casings on the back. im sure by my lingo you realized i have no idea about cars at all.

so which is the better bet? consider id want to paint the ugly color of the 80 one if i was to buy it, so count that in the expense column. just by looks, the 78 is more appealing to me.

also the 78 has am/fm/8 track/cassette, but i mean me being 18 and wanting a nice system in there, do you know of anywhere i could get a "retro deck" or anything like that, a high end deck that wouldnt take away from the nostalgia? or maybe some way i could buy a deck and use the old panel for it? thanks!

ill post pics of the cars when i figure out how to! haha

scott
[email protected]

·
Registered
1984 Fleetwood Brougham coupe
1,576 Posts
Well I like the more squarish look of the '80 and it's $2000 cheaper with less miles. Primer the car until you got the bankroll to paint the color you like. So I vote for the '80. At that price it gives you some money to play with the car. Oh and welcome to the forums.:welcome:

·
Registered
'05 Expedition
7,651 Posts
On looks, I'd agree, I like the 80 look better.

But the '78 has the 425 engine. I think that the '80 got the "pre-V8-6-4" 368 engine. In 1981 they used the same block but screwed it up with 8-6-4. It wasn't a bad engine, but overall the year was not a good one for Cadillac. My book says that sales dropped 27% in 1980.

·
Banned
1995 ETC, 75 Deville, Cad500 powered 73 Apollo, 94 Mark VIII
7,971 Posts