Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys i have recently purchased a 69 deville here in Melbourne australia.

It has been converted to RHD
And has a body by fisher tag

Codes on tag ST 69 68349

I am chasing up some possible answers to a paint related question

I am a panel beater / painter and i have purchased this car to restore

The previous owner had painted it in flat black. He told me ot was originally white.

My plan was to paint it in gloss black.

I have stripped the car and started to bare metal the shell and i have came accross pink!

I referenced the code 47 in our paint system at work and it came up as wisteria metallic

I am curious as to how i may be able to find out how many 69 devilles where produced in wisteria pink?

Id like to restore it to its factory colour if it is a rare colour. If its a common colour i will just do it my original plan of black.

I am on holidays at the moment so i was planning on getting a heap of repairs done and possibly start shooting some colour on the body within the next couple of weeks so id just like to know what direction im heading in with paint pretty soon!

Any help would be much appreciated

Also what does FWD 35543 mean on the tag? And hoe can i find out where it was built also?

Thanks again

Josh

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also i might add that the trim code
Is 347 "mauve"

And it has black trim

So if i did paint it in original colour to the tag

The trim wouldnt be correct to the tag

Any thoughts / advice appreciated

Josh

·
Registered
1970 Deville Convertible
309 Posts
Here are some links to information for 1969 Cadillacs..........

http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/cad1960/cad69.htm

http://www.100megsfree4.com/cadillac/cad1960/cad69.htm

http://automotivemileposts.com/cadillac/cadi1969selections.shtml

http://automotivemileposts.com/cadillac/paint1969cadi.html

some good fun reading!!

chris.

----------