Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
SRX
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday while I was driving I was switching between cd's in teh chager. Then the screen read "D mech error" is there a way to reset this? Or am i lookin at having to rplace the unit as a whole? Anyone had this issue?

Thanks for looking!

·
Registered
SRX, CTS-V
155 Posts
Wish I could be of more help...but I can at least tell you that i had that error and fixed it. When it first happened to me, I searched around and it seemed everything i found said that it was pretty much something that had to be replaced. So i figured, it couldn't hurt to look at it. I pulled it out, replugged at least one loose wire, and connected it. It went into some sort of reboot (apparently due to being disconnected and reconnected), ejected my CDs (finally, because they were stuck during the error) and it worked again.

·
Registered
SRX
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Being a complete newb @ this car, what are the steps in getting the deck out? I had all my music installed @ Bestbuy and I havent really played with n e parts on this.

Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
SRX, CTS-V
155 Posts
There are instructions for the CTS on the faq site that give instructions for removing the cd changer. It was the same as the SRX for me. Once I had the unit out, frankly i just used some common sense and luck to look around, make sure things were connected, clean, etc. and put it back in. I did apply power to it while it was "out" so I could see what was going on. I would give you more info, but its been a couple of years and I don't recall the exact details. I just wanted to let you know that its possible to reset/fix it without completely replacing it (at least in some cases, I suppose).

·
Registered
SRX
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #6