Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new and have issues with a SRX me and my wife purchased literally less than a week ago, so long story short the AC at idle when waiting in line at Starbucks I noticed the temp got weaker and weaker... I live in Louisiana and we need AC, so I am an aircraft mechanic and while not a car mechanic I still want to do thing my self etc. I have the proper tools and gauges; vacuum as well. I had a shop evacuate the system for me and brought it up to pull a vacuum and recharge the system myself. I let the vacuum run for a good hour, and left vacuum on the system for another hour and didn't see a single drop in mercury. I serviced her back myself by the amount of weight indicated on the sticker, car felt better but not good, AC compressor was kicking on as advertised and fan was coming on when the compressor cycled.

We again were waiting in traffic and the AC was just weak/ hot at this point, I said screw it and took it a service center up the road from the house. Just got the call that my compressor is supposedly bad and my evaporator.. I am skeptical as always just because money doesn't grow on trees. They quoted me $2700, I can get the parts significantly cheaper and the maintenance isn't a issue to me. My question is how do they know the evaporator is leaking? wouldn't this show up when I pulled vacuum on the system? it didn't leak down, at least didn't register on my gauges.

lets say all this does need to get replaced the one corner I won't cut is the compressor brand, have any of you had luck with a specific brand out there? Rock Auto only have a UAC brand and Four seasons their home brew and reman.