Cadillac Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
(Skip to Double Space for facts & data, actual questions are at the bottom) Hello all, I’m a young technician about 6 months into my own shop business and have been ALL over these forums the past week, as I have a customer with a 2008 CTS who was having major performance problems. Cyl. 2, 4, and 6 were dead, on a test drive, she locked up on me and wouldn’t start again. Cam/crank correlations and some research gave away the timing chains. I could almost skip the cam teeth by hand with only the valve covers off. Interference engine. Lovely. Pulled heads, checked valves. FILTHY. They wouldn’t seat at all, but none were visibly bent.

Rebuilt the heads, new oil pump, water pump, timing kit, intake and exhaust valves and seals, and spark plugs. I advised the customer to go ahead and replace the disgusting injectors while they were easily accessible (and all the one time use components).
Started up, sounded gut wrenching for 15 - 20 seconds. Evened out over the next hour with a few key cycles while monitoring data but was still making a lot of top engine noise. I’ve read everything I can find online about these engines. I know the HPFP and injectors make noise. Stethoscope sounded like middle of Bank 2. Pulled both valve covers and checked all lash adjusters and rocker arms, everything looks fine, normal wear, nothing terrible. Also pushed gently on injector connectors to ensure that they are fully seated.
It continued to idle too rough for my liking dead on at 550 (desired idle speed was within 15 RPM throughout).