Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone, it's my first day here and need some advice. I bought my wife a 2007 Escalade unaware at how few options the factory Bose radio has. First off there is no Bluetooth for phone calls or being able to play music from an iPhone or android. I don't have a GPS disk and was told that the gps will not work without activating the Onstar. I really don't want to go the aftermarket route. My questions are...

Can I buy a unit from a newer Escalade, install it and then have the dealer reprogram the radio?
Will the newer unit not require onstar for gps, will it have Bluetooth, and will all of the steering wheel controls work?

Does the GPS in this 2007 work if I buy the disk install it and not activate onstar? If it does should I buy an isimple module for the hands free phone and Bluetooth music. Is there a microphone in the 2007 radio that will work with the Isimple that will allow for hands free calling?

Please advise, any help will be greatly appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
414 Posts
Re: 2007 Escalade radio upgrade options. Please help!!

I have a 2010. However, the nav discs are the same.

I used mine without OnStar for a while until I gave up on it because it was so outdated. 2015 is the most recent version you can get for it. Google is updated automatically and has driving updates that you just can't get anywhere else.

I would probably recommend a Bluetooth integration kit over spending money on the latest version of the Nav software (it's $180.00). My Escalade has aux input Jack's on the back of the center console so I use that with a Bluetooth adapter for my phone input. However z I e used the iSimple products in the past and have been very happy with them.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
 

·
2007 Escalade
Joined
·
96 Posts
Re: 2007 Escalade radio upgrade options. Please help!!

I have the 07 and knew nothing of required ON-star access for the GPS to work.
I do have Onstar, but my GPS worked before I activated it too.
I complained to the dealership I bought mine from about not having a nav disk and they ordered me one.
2015 is the last year, so the map doesn't even have my neighborhood on it!

I use it solely because I dont like the look of radio in AUX.

I run a RCA to 3.5mm cord from the rear entertainment center to my phone, and play music and google maps directly from my phone.
I tried a bluetooth adapter but didnt like the further loss in sound quality.
Its not optimal, but 99% of aftermarket options will mess with the "Cadillac look" of your dash
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
414 Posts
I have one of these installed in my Jeep. Works great and uses the FM radio for input. Since it goes into the antenna connection sound quality is pretty good.

iSimple Hands-Free Calling and Music Streaming Kit with Control Button for Smartphones - Frustration-Free Packaging - Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FRU5UNA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Jm6aDb8YV7ZTY

The only thing you'd see would be the button for the phone and the mic. Everything else is tucked away inside the dash.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,233 Posts
I have factory bluetooth, nav-traffic, gm smartphone app and bluetooth audio plus 3.5mm in my 2008 Escalade. I don't have any aftermarket iSimple, PAC or what ever crap out there. I am using a 2010 Transverse OnStar module. I also got to keep my OnStar & the caller ID comes through my cluster like the 2009-2014 Escalade. I purchased the GM-RVD multimedia kit which gives me RCA audio and video inputs and outputs, make sure you ground the single black cable from the GM-RVD to metal or negative on cigar lighter or you will get a ugly buzzing sound. I purchsed the BOSE Bluetooth adapter for bluetooth audio for $50. I can be anymore happier.

BONUS
I installed the NAV-TV Barracuda which unlocks the phone keypad and video in motion. The Barracuda comes with a extra RCA input for forward facing camera.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Save yourself a headache & get a new stereo navigation system with Android Auto or Apple whatever it is. Mine works great, it's a huge upgrade.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
is there any non infotainment stuff one wld lose by replacing with an aftermarket head unit? i cant think of anything - which is nice. for example in the land rovers the infotainment screen shows suspension setting info.

im guessing with an aftermarket head unit you wld lose functionality of some of the oem buttons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
414 Posts
is there any non infotainment stuff one wld lose by replacing with an aftermarket head unit? i cant think of anything - which is nice. for example in the land rovers the infotainment screen shows suspension setting info.

im guessing with an aftermarket head unit you wld lose functionality of some of the oem buttons.
They make integration kits for just about everything.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
 

·
2007 Escalade
Joined
·
96 Posts
My aftermarket unit has more options than my 08 came with. No button loss.
Which unit did you go with?
Do you have pics?
My aversion to going aftermarket was the look of the dash, with a big gap in it.
The only one I saw that kept a luxury vehicle look was 10" tesla style unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
I went with a Kenwood, but I would get the new Sony 8" unit. Its only 1" deep and has a separate brain so you can mount it in the stock location. The Teslo one looks pretty cool, but I am not sure what works and what doesnt.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
I have the tesla style, it's chinese so basically not really tested and no qa :D but it runs waze and spotify and has a decent radio so I'm more happy with it than I was with original HU (however I live in Europe so I did not have working navigation with it and we don't have XM satellites). So for me original HU was basically hybrid screen (nice for 1st week) and after that mediocre radio. It's 2019 so DVDs are not a thing anymore :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
I watched the video on Youtube about that model....I'd rather spend $600 on a Sony and know its going to work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
The problem is that nobody makes good version of the chinese "ok" version. I'd happily use 2 times the money for one that would be actually tested and fit perfectly. No big players do big screens with proper android (for spotify, waze etc).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
The problem is that nobody makes good version of the chinese "ok" version. I'd happily use 2 times the money for one that would be actually tested and fit perfectly. No big players do big screens with proper android (for spotify, waze etc).
This is true. Feel like gambling $700 and a weekend of your time (one of which you can never get back)...My old man used to say, before he left this shitty world, is that "you get what you pay for, and cheap doesn't mean less expensive."
 

·
2007 Escalade
Joined
·
96 Posts
This is true. Feel like gambling $700 and a weekend of your time (one of which you can never get back)...My old man used to say, before he left this shitty world, is that "you get what you pay for, and cheap doesn't mean less expensive."
@Zombo,
Did you have to replace your factory Sub with the new kenwood unit?
Or did it work seemlessly?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
The Maestro components kept everything, factory amp, sub, steering wheel controls, Onstar etc,. It has a Garmin GPS sytsem thats much better than the factory GPS, but the Android Auto feature works perfectly with Waze, Google Maps etc,. Spotify, Pandora, Sirius, Amazon Music, they all play through my phone with Android Auto. Again, if I did it again I would use the new Sony 8" display unit. The Sony is only 1" thick and allows to be mounted high (like the factory screen), whereas my Kenwood is down a couple inches.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top