Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2007 cadillac dts
6 Posts
Hello ppl I'm new to this and I have a 07 DTS abot 140k miles and every time I turn it starts knocking!! I was told it was the struts. Does anybody kno how bad it is and let me know the price it would be to get it fixed please and thank you very much

I'm having the same problem but my 07 dts starts knocking where I'm turning whether I'm idle or driving. Idk I think it's the struts but how can I tell what kind of struts I have? Can u help me out

·
Registered
53 Posts
Re: struts/shocks maybe?? help pls

I recommend NEW OEM Front and Rear Struts/Shocks. I had a slight knock if you turned the wheel at 70k and was thinking I needed struts/mounts. Well $2600 and 1 year latter with new tie rods, wheel bearings, tires, front and rear complete assemblies I now have a new caddy. I still have a click when you put it in drive but this car wore me out. Be careful what you put in the cars and good luck.

·
Registered
2006 Cadillac DTS, 1999 Cadillac Seville
315 Posts
Re: struts/shocks maybe?? help pls

I would think the strut mounts would make a knocking sound. At 140k, depending on how long you will keep it..it would make sense to buy the struts with the strut mounts. Monroe, KYB, or OEM are all similar prices unless you have the Magnetic ride control. I went with the Monroes because the OEM's are too soft with the soft springs. If I had to do it again, I might have went with the KYB's because they are firmer.

I do like the soft ride on the highway, but in town I do not. Some people on here said that the base struts and shocks will last a very long time. So, you could just replace the mounts and bearing.

·
Registered
2011 DTS Platinum
4,633 Posts
Re: Struts with or without MO ride?

I'm having the same problem but my 07 dts starts knocking where I'm turning whether I'm idle or driving. Idk I think it's the struts but how can I tell what kind of struts I have? Can u help me out