Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2006 Cadillac STS, I then got after market WHEELS, Rims & Tires. The person who did the switching of wheels mounting & balancing kept the old rims.
Are there any sensors that were attached to the rim itself - like say Air Pressure Sensors and would there be any other sensors for Traction Control, Assist Brake, Stability System?
Im 100% sure that the Air Pressure Sensors were not transferred, My fear is that there is more info that is programmed into these sensors. If not where would I start looking to adress the traction control slowing me down on a the smallest amount of sleet or snow.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hello,
Im a noob, I know not cool. Im not just a noob to the forum but to cars in general. So here is my story please help if you can, and I apologize if I posted in the wrong area.
I bought a 2006 STS, I love the car - but I wanted some cooler looking rims. I bought some after market wheels, (Rim & Tires) I had a third party dealer switch out my wheels,
He did the mounting & balancing. My question is - is there any sensors that were connected to attached to the rim/wheel itself? Im sure did not transfer them. Im pretty sure
at the very least he didnt bring over the air pressure sensor, is there any other sensors or does the sensor read or rely any other information? Say like for Traction Control, Assisted Brake,
or Stability System. If the sensors are not located in the wheel where would they be? I have issues in just the smallest amount of snow, sleet even heavy rain. These systems then kick in
wheels spin or stop I get because of RWD Id have some issues handling in the snow, but Im talking even less than a half inch. is there any known issues w/ Traction Control, Assisted Brake,