Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
2006 DTS base VIN Y
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Ladies and Gents, newbie here. I inherited my grandpa's 2006 DTS in 2013 with 28k.
currently at 132k
where do I begin?
Car has always had a intermittent shimmy at 70+ mph on smooth roads. And, after 2 sets of michelin tires, 4 new struts, a rack/pinion, 2 tie rods, 2 control arms with ball joints, front and rear brakes, rotors, calipers, wheel bearings, and cv axles....it still gives me a wiggle at 75mph.

Power seat stopped fully functioning in 2010. Developed oil/trans fluid/ coolant leaks within the last 30k. New hoses, radiator, thermostat, coolant tank.... Still leaks.

And recently, within the last few days, the heater blows cool. Im done with GM.
Wifes honda has 100k more miles, and all ive done to it is replace the timing set and repaired a bad A/C compressor. No leaks, everything works and its a.... HONDA!

·
Registered
DTS '06 Lux II + Sunroof
21 Posts
Hi and Welcome to the forum.

Your oil pan probably needs a new gasket but, if it's only 2-3 drops per day, I wouldn't worry too much. My '06 has been leaking for the past 4 years, I check the level once a month and add oil when needed. As for the trans liquid, check if there are any loose or missing bolts.

For the power seats, it could be a burnt connector, or maybe the memory/power seat module gave up. You need to remove the driver seat to check for both problems. If it's the module, you'll be able to find one at a u-pull scrapyard for like 30 bucks. If you can't find a donor DTS, look for any Lucerne, Escalade, Yukon, Tahoe, Silverado or Suburban.

Note: The heated/cooled seat function is controlled by a separate module that is located under the passenger seat. I am mentioning it because, very often, sellers mix up these modules.

Regards

·
2006 DTS perf
2006 DTS Performance Lux III
1,339 Posts