Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2005 CTS
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me apologize, I know there are several posts and threads about this very issue, but I need help.

I have a 2005 CTS 3.6L, auto trans with 120,000 miles on it. During the bad weather we had here in the Boston area over the winter, I didn't drive my CTS for two months. When I did go to start it after it sat I jump started it and let it idle, but the transmission cooler line broke off the radiator before I could get out of the parking spot. I had it towed to my work (I am a BMW/MINI technician) and I put a new radiator in it and refilled the transmission with fluid, bled the cooling system, etc. All was well after that repair, I pulled the car out of my shop and parked it outside and left it for a day (as I had been driving my truck to and from work while the car was down). The next day, I went to take my CTS to lunch as a test drive, and it would not crank, would not start. Key was stuck in ignition, couldn't turn it to the "position 0". DIC display showed "Service Security System" or something along those lines. I manually released the key, tried my other key I have for the car, still same issue.

I immediately searched this forum and found several threads about people having similar issues. After enough reading, I determined that most people find the Theft Deterrent Module to be the culprit, or the ECM itself. I think I also found one where the body control module was causing the issue.