Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
cts 2004
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read a number of posts on this but can't seem to find a definitive answer. our cts has 204K miles with 3.6 engine rebuild at 191K. 5 speed auto trans is original. when you roll up slowly to a stop, foot off the brake the downshift from 2nd to 1st is so hard it lurches you forward in the seat. other than that the trans works perfectly. some have said that's normal, which I can't imagine, others say it shouldn't do that. thoughts anyone?

I'm a good mechanic so I'm considering replacing the trans with a used trans out of an 03 w/80K miles guaranteed by local salvage yard. does anyone have a link to a transmission removal procedure from alldata or the factory service manual?

thx

·
Registered
06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
9,803 Posts
That 03 transmission might not work. Due to the fact the engine was the old Opel 3.2L. You have a new 3.6 which may have a different transmission mount.

Here's a question though. If you were to coast down a slight hill. Then press on the gas to go faster. Do you hear and/or feel a clunk?

KOT

·
Registered
cts 2004
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
really hard downshift from 1st to 2nd, read lot of posts but confused

I've read a number of posts on this but the answers are all over the place. my cts has 204K miles with 3.6 engine rebuild at 191K. 5 speed auto trans is original. when you roll up slowly to a stop, foot off the brake the downshift from 2nd to 1st is so
hard it lurches you forward in the seat. if you take off really slowly it will upshift into 2nd then immediately downshift hard back into 1st. when you take off under steady throttle it upshifts through the gears fine and out on the highway in high/od it runs perfect. some have posted this is normal, which I can't imagine, others say it shouldn't do that. with the mileage I'm thinking it's just worn out but wondered if it could be the trans control unit? thoughts anyone?

thx