Cadillac Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
2002 SLS 1965 Deville
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have put new oem plugs in and a used but known to be good coil... cleaned the throttle body 3 times... no leaky fpr... no codes being set... weird idle when i put it in park it will idle up to 2000 rpm and slowly go back down... I admit I am new to this N* and i need help. any advice will be appreciated.

·
Administrator
2002 F55 STS, 2014 Explorer XLT, F-150s
74,505 Posts
Clean the IAC (Idle Air Control) - carefully - and its bore. Use TB cleaner. Sticks out the front side of the TB. Don't drop it - it's $165.

·
Registered
2002 SLS 1965 Deville
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I also have only run premium QT/BP/Shell gas in it sense I bought it 3 months ago..Never run anything else... Not sure if that is important but its all I run in my cars.

·
Administrator
74,505 Posts
I also have only run premium QT/BP/Shell gas in it sense I bought it 3 months ago..Never run anything else... Not sure if that is important but its all I run in my cars.
Our cars are set up for 87 - regular. I run the screaming hell out of my car and it's perfectly happy on Shell 87 - either at 120 or on the Interstate. You're plain, flat throwing money away.
Once every 6 months I run a 20 oz. jug of Chevron TECHRON through it.

·
Registered
2002 SLS 1965 Deville
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Our cars are set up for 87 - regular. I run the screaming hell out of my car and it's perfectly happy on Shell 87 - either at 120 or on the Interstate. You're plain, flat throwing money away.
Once every 6 months I run a 20 oz. jug of Chevron TECHRON through it.
Really??? Is this true? I figured being a "Luxury" car it wouldnt like 89 or 87... How do these cars like ethanol?... or do they? If I can save a few bucks on gas that would be awesome!!!

·
Administrator
74,505 Posts