Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Escalade
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello i am new to this, and i need help with my Caddy, this summer when i turned into a parking spot it seemed like my truck was stuck in 4 low and vibrated took it to a shop and they said my transfer case was shot.. It is cooler now and no problems so far could i be low on fluid or is this a problem with the 02 escalades? shop wants to charge $1800 to fix.. please help.. thank you!!

·
Registered
03 cadillac escalade
11,902 Posts
are you making any tight turns with the steering wheel all the way or is it doing when you go straight the reason i ask is cause i don't think the 02 has transfer case controls i know my 03 don't have them and it behaves like it is in 50/50 when i turn the wheel really steep in while in a parking lot kinda odd to see a caddy barking the tires at low speed.

·
Registered
2002 Escalade
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi and thank you for replying... my 02 only does it when turning into a tight spot after driving for a little while, left or right it doesnt matter. not when straight or if its cold.. i live in colorado and since its cooled down outside it has not done it..it would do it in reverse as well. i was thinking maybe my fluid is old or low, it just turned 100000 miles and i have had it since 60000, been serviced routine but nothing with the transfer case. please help, dont want to spend $1800 if the transfer case is not shot.. thanks again..

·
Registered
03 cadillac escalade
11,902 Posts
ok shed me a bit more light on this do you have push button controls for the four wheel drive if yes then it may be them needing replaced if not then i am pretty sure your is acting the same as mine which is all wheel drive and will show the signs like you mention

·
Registered
2007 Escalade EXT
138 Posts