Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
1998 Deville base
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I am new to owning a Cadillac and for the most part have been able to enjoy the ride but the HVAC issue is driving me crazy.

When I start the car most times, the temp selection (normally on 70) will either go all the way to 90 or down to 60. Sometimes the Fan Speed with go all the way up or down, and sometimes both the temp and the fan speed will change. When I got the car, it had this problem and it also had an obvious issue with the steering wheel controls as hitting volume up might change the station or hitting the temp might change the fan speed. So, my first thought was the buttons were shorting out, so I removed them from the steering wheel by unplugging them from their harness but I am still having the issue with the HVAC, but no longer with the radio. So, hopefully with your help, I can get back to really enjoying my car again.

Current Codes
P0603 - History - Caused by battery disconnection.
B1552 - History - Caused by battery disconnection.
B2510 - Active - Not shown in ALLDATAdiy but google says "Steering wheel HVAC controls stuck"
B2515 - History - Not shown in ALLDATAdiy but google says "Steering wheel illegal resist value"
C1226 - History - Wheel speed sensor circuit (Likely the cause of my Traction Control warning every drive)
C1255 - History - EBTCM Internal Malfunction (The cause of my ABS light coming on intermittently)
C1283 - History - Excessive time to center steering (ALLDATAdiy says to deal with C1226 first)
C1552 - History - Not shown in ALLDATAdiy but google says the non vehicle specific definition is "C1552 DTC specifically refers to the camshaft (cam) timing. In this case, if the cam timing is over-retarded, the engine light will be illluminated and the code will be set."
C1558 - Active - Not shown in ALLDATAdiy but google seems to think this is a bad MAF sensor.