Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Cadillac Deville (Base)
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all: I drive a 1997 Base model Deville with an am/fm tape deck. My father drives a 2004 Base model Deville with a am/fm/ single cd player. His car was totaled this last weekend and I pulled the radio out of it to get his Joan Baez cd out of it.
Of course it plugs into the 97, but doesn't fire up. Is there a possible swap here, or do I just take his cd player apart and junk it. It seems like it fits in my caddy ok, and I would like to just use it there if possible. I am not a moron with wiring, but I'm not an engineer either. It seems like just cutting and splicing random wires is not a good idea.
Is there a schematic that someone has that can tell me what wire positions have been changed. The plug is numbered 1-16, and is two sided so perhaps that helps.
please advise.
Dad is ok by the way, he took a head on shot from a lady in a jeep at about 95 mph combined speed. He broke both legs and both arms, but he is alive, although the caddy is not. Long live the big cars.
G

·
Registered
927 Posts
Ganzgut2 said:
Hey all: I drive a 1997 Base model Deville with an am/fm tape deck. My father drives a 2004 Base model Deville with a am/fm/ single cd player. His car was totaled this last weekend and I pulled the radio out of it to get his Joan Baez cd out of it.
Of course it plugs into the 97, but doesn't fire up. Is there a possible swap here, or do I just take his cd player apart and junk it. It seems like it fits in my caddy ok, and I would like to just use it there if possible. I am not a moron with wiring, but I'm not an engineer either. It seems like just cutting and splicing random wires is not a good idea.
Is there a schematic that someone has that can tell me what wire positions have been changed. The plug is numbered 1-16, and is two sided so perhaps that helps.
please advise.