Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1993 cadillac sts
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to this forum and this is my first caddy. I'm getting code 46. I looked it up and it means difference in fuel banks. My car is idling a bit ruff sometimes, it jumps from 500 to 1200 rpm while parked but after I give it some throttle it goes back to normal. I'm no mechanic so I'm wondering if somebody could tell me what it could be and how much it's going to cost me at the caddy dealership. Thx in advance :)

·
Master of the Dark Art of Diagnostics
2003 DHS - two-2002 DHS, 2003 SLS, 1995 Sedan DeVille, 1989 Coupe DeVille
19,270 Posts
Re: 1993 sts code 46

Hi all, I'm new to this forum and this is my first caddy. I'm getting code 46. I looked it up and it means difference in fuel banks. My car is idling a bit ruff sometimes, it jumps from 500 to 1200 rpm while parked but after I give it some throttle it goes back to normal. I'm no mechanic so I'm wondering if somebody could tell me what it could be and how much it's going to cost me at the caddy dealership. Thx in advance :)
-------------------------------
I would check for vacuum leaks

·
Registered
1993 cadillac sts
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you but I have no idea how to look for these lol. Wouldn't a vacuum leak cause me to constantly idle higher then usual? The car usually idles fine and when I punch it it runs strong and does what it should. It only happens when idling in a drive thru or when in park Sometimes.

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
68,449 Posts