Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
'93 STS
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello one and all! It's my first time posting here and I'm new to Cadillac ownership, so please bear with me :eek:

Recently I bought a cheap 1993 Cadillac Seville 'hooptie' with the notorious 4.6 Northstar engine. I find it absolutely love it when it actually works and doesn't overheat - that rumble and torque is intoxicating! However, ever since I drove it off the dealer lot I have been struggling with this, and the 2 hour drive home was certainly interesting! After hearing this most of you will conclude that it's the dreaded head gasket issue, but I have reasons to believe that it's not.

Basically the car overheats quite quickly from when it's cold - I can typically only drive 10 miles or so. The 'Check Coolant Level' warning text comes on periodically, and there is an apparent loss of coolant in the system. I noticed that there was dripping from the radiator and tried to resolve the issue by adding Bar's Leaks coolant sealant (not ideal, I know) into the radiator hose. It appeared to be successful as I didn't see any leak anymore, but the overheating issues still persisted. I also tried to bleed potential air out of the cooling system by having the car idling without the expansion tank cap on and giving it revs to 3.6K RPM.

The strange part about all of this is that 1) the car cools down rapidly when I turn the engine off and 2) on my first drive home after the car had already overheated multiple times, I could all of a sudden drive it without any issues for hours after adding a small amount of coolant. They returned again the next day.