Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1991 Sedan Deville
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks I'm new to your Cadi forum, thanks for your time.
I have a 1991 Sedan Deville, 150,000 miles. It was running fine, then one day on the way home it started to sputter like a sensor just went, and lose a little power. it has been getting progressively worse.to the point now where it has no power at all. Ive changed the egr valve, fuel pump, fuel regulator,plugs, wires, cap, catilitic converter. Ive gone from 20 mpg down to 6 mpg. The car starts right up but put it in gear and it just has no power. Any help would be appreciated. Thank You.

·
Registered
1992 Sedan Deville, 1984 Lincoln Town Car
759 Posts
Check your codes as suggested for clues. but if the car has no power there you may have a blown head gasket or worse. Compression check might be in order. Do you have any smoke, black, blue or white from your exhaust? Could even be transmission problems. How's your T fluid, clean or black?

·
Registered
1991 Sedan Deville
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Check your codes as suggested for clues. but if the car has no power there you may have a blown head gasket or worse. Compression check might be in order. Do you have any smoke, black, blue or white from your exhaust? Could even be transmission problems. How's your T fluid, clean or black?
I checked the computer codes. I'm not blowing any smoke, no water in the oil no oil in the water, It doesn't smell like it's running rich. I did a compession test on the front four cylinders 150 to 170 psi {I think I may have to break down and check the back 4, but it was startig to run bad when I changed plugs and they looked good}. It I need to no where the plug is that I have to jump to do the timing. The car idles
very uneven now rpms up, rpms down. Trans fluid is down half a quart but is vert clean. The car doesn't run fast and not go antwhere, if a load is put on it the motor just has no power.

Thanks

·