Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright y'all. I'll start by saying that I am no mechanic and I'm learning as I go how to work on and diagnose issues on cars.
Now, to my issue.
I have a 1990 Cadillac DeVille with around 145,000 miles. I have owned it for exactly a year. The car has started having a severe loss of power. The car starts with no hesitation and will run fine until warmed up. Once warmed up it will briefly run normal then loses power. I'm talking pedal to the floor and it totally bogs down. I have checked what I thought was rational to check but had no luck.
I have changed the spark plugs.
I have checked the fuel pressure with a guage and they checked out to be in spec.
40 psi ignition on/engine off
34 psi ignition on/engine on at idle.
I tried fresh high grade gas.
I put a new fuel pressure regulator and fuel filter on it.
Cleaned the throttle body.
Checked for any loose lines.

_ _ _
Unrelated parts changed when I purchased the vehicle:
It needed a throttle position sensor and an egr valve.
Both of these were replaced and the car was running fine. The current issue has only been happening in the last 3 months or so.
Oil changed regularly and I take care of the car. I LOVE this vehicle. I have read various posts here and elsewhere saying possible MAP sensor, clogged cat, idle air control valve ecm....

I'm about to pull my hair out, and I'm bald already so...

Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
'89 Sedan Deville
28 Posts
Did you check your vacuum? Although usually with bad vacuum it'll run rough from the start, it wouldn't hurt to check. I know when I change my EGR I ripped the vacuum line behind it. I ended up replacing most of the lines after that. Check my history, I also made a post about changing the vacuum canister intake line. Check visually for cracking and brittleness. You can also smoke test the system. A couple feet of 5mm silicone tube will take care of most of it.

·